Underworld by Meg Cabot (Review)


Title: Underworld

Author: Meg Cabot

Publisher: Point Publishing – Scholastic

Pages:341

Synopsis: Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.

Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera isn’t dead.

Not this time.

But she is being held against her will in the dim, twilit world between heaven and hell, where the spirits of the deceased wait before embarking upon their final journey.

Her captor, John Hayden, claims it’s for her own safety. Because not all the departed are dear. Some are so unhappy with where they ended up after leaving the Underworld, they’ve come back as Furies, intent on vengeance…on the one who sent them there and on the one whom he loves.

But while Pierce might be safe from the Furies in the Underworld, far worse dangers could be lurking for her there…and they might have more to do with its ruler than with his enemies.

And unless Pierce is careful, this time there’ll be no escape.

Click to read full review!

Review: 🌟🌟🌟 3/5

My obsession to read all the books that involve Greek gods/retelling is a problem. Okay, it isn’t really because I usually love them. I will literally read anything involving Greek mythology, even if the book does not have great reviews on Goodreads.

I read and reviewed Abandon by Meg Cabot, and I can say that book easily annoyed me. Check yourself before you wreck yourself…this was repeated far too many times (to continue being sane afterwards) in the lamest of circumstances. Every time that was uttered in Abandon I had to physically stop reading for a while. Also the term Westport Academy for Girls was used way way too often. I will never forget it, it has forever been ingrained in my memory and it makes me slightly rage…but I digress.

This is book two in the trilogy and I gave it a full 3 stars. I can’t say I loved it but it was much better than book one. The story was easier for me to read, with less annoying repetitive catchphrases, but I still have some issues with it.

First and foremost…John is an asshole. I don’t even know how to put this lightly because when I think of him he makes me rage quit reading. His character is almost like Christian from Fifty Shades of Grey. He’s full of anger, has a temper, tells Pierce what to do AND HE EVEN LIED TO HER TWICE. But if she doesn’t tell him something? Yeah expect the damn apocalypse. And it was the worst kind of lie to tell, especially when you supposedly love someone and know how they feel about the Underworld. I can’t begin to imagine why Pierce has any feelings for this creep that knew her and fell in love with her when she was like 5 or something. Jacob and Renesme anyone? Blech, it just seemed so weird how the whole relationship was pushed from the start.

Pierce was incredibly all over the place as a character. Sometimes I didn’t like her character and sometimes I was surprised how sensible she could be. She definitely understands how things are, and she cares a lot about her family which is definitely relatable.

The story WAS better than book one because we got a larger cast of characters that were more entertaining than Pierce and John. I did want to know more about this crew and enjoyed their scenes in the book. When John wasn’t being a tool, I did enjoy some of their scenes together and overall liked the direction it was going. I did give this book 3/5 so I did like the book. The writing was nice and easy to read. The story flowed nicely from book one, and was enjoyable. Regardless of how I feel about John, the overall story was good. I think it improved and the plot twist at the end definitely left me wanting to read book three.

And although I am not the biggest fan of the series, I DO want to see where the last book goes because I did enjoy the ending of book two. I am hoping that book three gives us more action and plot twists.

Overall this was a decent read and if you like Greek Mythology, Hades and Persephone retelling, or Fifty Shades (but want something obviously way G rated), then yeah I think you should check this out, because although I had my own issues with the story, I am sure many people can have a great time reading this story. It is easy to read and the books are super short so they are quick to get through.

Leave a Reply

