Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini (review)


Title: Starcrossed

Author: Josephone Angelini

Pages: 487

Publisher: HarperTeen

Favorite Quote: “I know it’s not nothing, Helen, and I’d rather you told me the truth, whatever it is. Ariadne gave all three of us guys a whole lecture about women’s troubles years ago, you know. And by lecture, I mean beating.”

SynopsisHow do you defy DESTINY?

Helen Hamilton has spent her entire sixteen years trying to hide how different she is – no easy task on an island as small and sheltered as Nantucket. And it’s getting harder. Nightmares of a desperate desert journey have Helen waking parched, only to find her sheets damaged by dirt and dust. At school she’s haunted by hallucinations of three women weeping tears of blood… and when Helen first crosses paths with Lucas Delos, she has no way of knowing they’re destined to play the leading roles in a tragedy the Fates insist on repeating throughout history.

As Helen unlocks the secrets of her ancestry, she realizes that some myths are more than just legend. But even demigod powers might not be enough to defy the forces that are both drawing her and Lucas together – and trying to tear them apart.

Click to read full review!

Review: 5/5

UMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM hi…where has this book been all my life?! So I have been on a Greek Mythology YA kick, because re-reading Percy Jackson brings out the Greek side. Basically I want all the Greek Mythology books in my hands right now, please. YA, NA, I don’t care, GIMMIE.

Anyway the review…I LOVED this story. At first I was a bit confused by the whole “Houses” situation that Josephine created but once explained I was totally on board. I loved how people had different abilities and the overall feel of the demigods.

Helen was a good character, although shy and introverted, it was great to see her grow throughout the book with Lucas and his family. Lucas was awesommmme. I did see a slight overprotective streak in him regarding Helen but it was not overpowering or annoying.

The writing was great, the story flowed so well together. The characters all were developed great, not too much to give everything away and not too little where you feel disappointed. Everyone was just connected, and I felt like the story packed quite a bit of action. The story really opens up to the whole demigod universe, Helen’s life, and past and present events. It just all works so nicely. I loved every second of this book, I devoured it and I ordered the next two books in this trilogy because I need ASAP.

I wasn’t the biggest fan of Claire at the beginning but she got way better towards the end of the book. The Delos Family is so much fun and loved every single one of them. They all stood out on their own and were unique in their own way. Which made reading about everyone easy and interesting. No one fell flat or was pushed to the side. Josephine Angelini did such a fantastic job, I love her writing and her characters.

I totally recommend this to everyone, you all need to read this right now. Do yourself a favor and pick this up because it’s so fun to dive into and see how everything unfolds. It is a super easy read, although slightly on the longer side but totally worth it. A great beach read for the summer (because it’s that time of year), because it is that awesome. Honestly you can read this anytime of the year, but go read it. Add to your TBR because it is WORTH it.

P.S – It is only 2.99 as an E-book! Totally worth checking out.

Happy Reading!

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Book Depository

Leave a Reply

