Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan (review)

Title: Tell the Wind and Fire

Author: Sarah Rees Brennan

Publisher: Clarion – HMH

Pages: 368

Favorite Quote: “Everybody here thought of me as belonging to the Light, as if growing up in the Dark had not affected me, as if the shine of my rings had made me immune to my surroundings. But I knew who I had been in the Dark, and remembered those I loved in the darkness.”

“Tell the wind and fire where to stop, but don’t tell me.”

SynopsisIn a city divided between opulent luxury in the Light and fierce privations in the Dark, a determined young woman survives by guarding her secrets.

Lucie Manette was born in the Dark half of the city, but careful manipulations won her a home in the Light, celebrity status, and a rich, loving boyfriend. Now she just wants to keep her head down, but her boyfriend has a dark secret of his own—one involving an apparent stranger who is destitute and despised.

Lucie alone knows of the deadly connection the young men share, and even as the knowledge leads her to make a grave mistake, she can trust no one with the truth.

Blood and secrets alike spill out when revolution erupts. With both halves of the city burning, and mercy nowhere to be found, can Lucie save either boy—or herself?

Click to read full review!

Review: 5/5

Okay so it is no secret how much I love Sarah Rees Brennan, her writing is just the meatballs to my spaghetti.

Don’t judge. I know you’re jelly.

So when I saw the galley on Netgalley well naturally I squealed like a little girl and requested it. And again when I got my hands on the ebook, because well, obsession is a thing.

Now I do have to admit that I haven’t read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, because I’m lame and sometimes shy away from classics cause I’m a douchebag, sorry…not sorry. Eventually I’ll get around to all the beautiful classics, but today is not that day. I do have the book, so I’m gonna say that is a step in the right direction. So with that being said I can’t really compare the stories and tell you the similarities.

I really enjoyed the writing and found the story to be easy to read. It flowed together nicely and the characters were great. I found it easy to pick up, and always came back for more. I’m telling you, Sarah’s writing just hooks you in and doesn’t let go. She also has a bad wonderful habit of making you feel the feels. All of the feels. So prepare yourself.

The story follows Lucie who has some secrets and tries to navigate this Light and Dark line she created for herself. There is a lot of intrigue and mystery surrounding these characters so I don’t want to give anything away. I can say it involves Light and Dark Magic, and unravels quite nicely.

Sarah does a wonderful job of weaving these characters together and still is able to add her usual wit and humor. She creates vivid scenes that are so easy to picture. The writing in this book is beautiful and doesn’t disappoint. I definitely recommend this book to everyone, and encourage everyone to pick this up as well as her other series.

Side note – I need to pick up the hardback so it can sit on my shelf in all its glory.

This will be a great read for those of you wanting some fantasy in the summer but don’t want something crazy like high fantasy. It’s easy, relatively short, and magical.

Happy Reading!

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Book Depository

 

*Recieved  from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are 100% my own.

Leave a Reply

