The Casquette Girls by Alys Arden (review)

Title: The Casquette Girls

Author: Alys Arden

Pages: 565

Publisher: Skyscape

Favorite Quote: “…patiently waiting in the shadows while I flirted with a monster.

& “My Sixteen year old daughter is dressed up as a hallucinogenic.

Synopsis:

Seven girls tied by time.

Five powers that bind.

One curse to lock the horror away.

One attic to keep the monsters at bay.

After the storm of the century rips apart New Orleans, sixteen-year-old Adele Le Moyne wants nothing more than her now silent city to return to normal. But with home resembling a war zone, a parish-wide curfew, and mysterious new faces lurking in the abandoned French Quarter, normal needs a new definition.

As the city murder rate soars, Adele finds herself tangled in a web of magic that weaves back to her own ancestors. Caught in a hurricane of myths and monsters, who can she trust when everyone has a secret and keeping them can mean life or death? Unless . . . youโ€™re immortal.

Rating: 5/5 ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

Review
:

I had started this book a while ago but had to put it down, due to this thing called college and a crap ton of research. When I finally came back to it, I couldn’t put it down. I was lost forever within these pages. This is the kind of book that doesn’t leave you, seriously. I would be in lab trying to get glow proteins out of E. coli and my mind would always wander back to this book…that’s when I knew I was obsessed. The best parts of my day easily became the nights before bed when I could continue reading. I almost didn’t want to finish it because the second book isn’t out yet and I totally felt sad! So basically this book is EVERYTHING. Everything I’ve ever wanted in a book and more, with 565 pages of pure magic.

I can definitely say this is now in my top 5 favorite books I have ever read. Ever. The writing is amaze balls. It’s fluid and easy to read, the descriptions were fabulous, and the characters were all unique in their own way. I didn’t find myself confused with the cast of characters nor did I feel like I had to reread because it wasn’t unfolding clearly. But don’t be fooled, this isn’t a simple book. It is magical and so fun to read. The mysteries and lies keep you guessing, and I have to say I did not expect the twist at the end. The characters all stood out brilliantly, and were all very realistic and loveable (some not so much…I’m looking at you Emile.) I loved Adele’s relationship with her father, and it was something I could very much relate to. I loved the different magical elements tied together, it was so fun to see the story develop so beautifully. Alys Arden weaved the past and present so perfectly, I felt like I was there experiencing everything Adele did. Adele is a great character, although will flaws (who isn’t?) they are relatable flaws, which makes her realistic and genuine. She’s smart and talented, strong and passionate, witty yet kind. I loved her character and enjoyed seeing her grow throughout the book. Strong characters and a strong plot throughout, I highly recommend everyone check this one out.

I don’t even know what else to say, because no words can describe how amazing this book is and how much you NEED to pick it up…now. Don’t walk, RUN to get your copy. You won’t regret it, and you WILL fall in love with these characters and of course, New Orleans.

Places to find this beautiful book:

Barnes & Nobleย |ย Amazonย |ย Book Depository

*Recieved this beautiful book with thanks to Netgalley.


ย 

Leave a Reply

