Review: Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough

  

Title
: Once a Witch

Author: Carolyn MacCullough 

Publisher: HMH Books

Pages: 292

Favorite Quote: “I’m not going to help help him,” I say, frustrated now because I don’t understand why he’s not immediately grasping my hastily thought-out plan that has more holes than a slice of Swiss cheese.”

Synopsis: “Your daughter will be one of the most powerful we have ever seen in this family. She will be a beacon for us all.”

Tamsin Greene comes from a long line of witches, and on the day she was born, her grandmother proclaimed she would be one of the most Talented among them.

But Tamsin’s magic never showed up.

Now, seventeen years later, she spends most of her time at boarding school in Manhattan, where she can at least pretend to be normal. But during the summers, she’s forced to return home and work at her family’s bookstore/magic shop.

One night a handsome young professor from New York University arrives in the shop and mistakes Tamsin for her extremely Talented older sister. For once, it’s Tamsin who’s being looked at with awe and admiration, and before she can stop herself, she agrees to find a family heirloom for him that was lost more than a century ago. But the search – and the stranger – prove to be more sinister than they first appeared, ultimately sending Tamsin on a treasure hunt through time that will unlock the secret of her true identity, unearth the past sins of her family, and unleash a power so strong and so vengeful that it could destroy them all.

Review:  4.5/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟💫.

Four out of FIVE stars you’re asking?! Yes, yes indeed. I HIGHLY enjoyed reading Once a Witch. I was so sad that it was so short but oh so excited that it’s a duology, so I get more Gabriel and Tamsin. First, I want to say I absolutely love the name Tamsin. Seriously, any Lost Girl fans out there? It’s just such a fitting name. I wanted to read this as part of my fall TBR, I finally picked it up after sitting on my bookcase for YEARS. No shame, okay maybe a little bit. I can’t tell you enough how PERFECT this book is for fall. The whole theme and vibe screams fall and rainy weather. Curling up with this book, a blanket, and some tea just made my nights heavenly. Okay okay, let’s get more into the review, shall we? We meet Tamsin who comes from a big and long family line of Witches. Instead of powers, they’re called Talents. As it turns out everyone in her family is Talented except for Tamsin, and so she decides to attend school in the city. We start with her really wanting to get away from her family, especially her sister. We definitely see jealously come into play when she describes her sister. Rowena is a super powerful witch and will lead the family after their grandmothers passing. Apparently when Tamsin was born SHE was suppose to be all powerful and a beacon to all. The family relationships were very relatable for me, and I really enjoyed how the author wrote everyone in a unique way. Without giving too much away, there are events that really change the way Tamsin sees her family. Oh, and did I mention it has time travel? Well, IT HAS TIME FREAKING TRAVEL. I really enjoyed the writing style and found it to be a very easy read. The story flowed nicely, with an nice amount of action and intrigue. I wanted to know more about the family history and once events started unfolding I was really drawn into the story. Though I was hooked from the first chapter, let’s be honest. I did take half a star off just because I felt as though we could have had more family history thrown in to help us better understand some of the actions that took place at the end. I also would have enjoyed a bit more action nearing the end or more of a cliff hanger than what was given. This isn’t a mind blowing experience but it’s definitely a super fun and very enjoyable read that I highly recommend checking out. We get romance, intrigue, mystery, time travel, talents, family secrets, jealousy, and a girl just trying to find her true self and make choices that will change her life as well as her entire family’s. I’m super excited that I can finally check this guy off my Goodreads, and can dive into book two. I recommend you guys checking it out if you like Witches, want a good fall book that fits oh so perfectly, or just want a simple incredibly fun read. On to book two for me!

  

Leave a Reply

