Abandon by Meg Cabot (review)



Title
: Abandon

Author: Meg Cabot

Pages: 304

Publisher: Point

Favorite Quote: “Stepping outside was like stepping into soup. That’s how humid it was.”

Synopsis: Though she tries returning to the life she knew before the accident, Pierce can’t help but feel at once a part of this world, and apart from it. Yet she’s never alone . . . because someone is always watching her. Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.

But now she’s moved to a new town. Maybe at her new school, she can start fresh. Maybe she can stop feeling so afraid.

Only she can’t. Because even here, he finds her. That’s how desperately he wants her back. She knows he’s no guardian angel, and his dark world isn’t exactly heaven, yet she can’t stay away . . . especially since he always appears when she least expects it, but exactly when she needs him most.

But if she lets herself fall any further, she may just find herself back in the one place she most fears: the Underworld.



Review
: 🌟🌟 2/5 stars.

You know, I generally love all mythological retellings. And if they are they Greek? Yes even more love. All the love. At around page 40 I had to stop and double check on Goodreads that I had the first book in the series. I had NO IDEA what was going on. Absolutely NO explanation of anything is given to ANYTHING. Oh that one thing that happened? That’s cool, what was it? Oh there’s a difference between the ‘incident’ and the ‘accident’? Elaborate. The way it gets told is like we already have all the information, it wasn’t mysterious it was confusing. Alas, I trudged on because I hate leaving a book unfinished. It just doesn’t sit well with me.

This whole book was mostly flashbacks, which honestly were not very exciting and could have been explained in a couple pages. The main character Pierce, is NOT a smart girl. And she doesn’t like greek mythology. What? WHAT?


The way she acts throughout the book is just questionable. Those who are suppose to be close to her treat her like she’s mentally unstable, and ask if she’s taken her meds if for some reason she even acts happy or moody. The love interest John was probably in about 4 chapters. He does NOT get developed at all, and the most information we (and Pierce) get about him is through the cemetery sexton. And let’s face it, even he doesn’t know John all that well. The character development was poor at best.

Which by the way leads me to another issue I had with this book. The redundancy was off the charts. CHECK YOURSELF BEFORE YOU WRECK YOURSELF. I can go the rest of my life without seeing that phrase ever again. It’s repeated essentially in every chapter. I wish I counted, if I did I would have probably thrown the book at the wall. My reaction every time:

The only part I really enjoyed was the very BRIEF time she was in the Underworld. Which by the way is AN Underworld, not THE Underworld…apparently.

Lastly, without spoilers I’ll briefly get into the ending. I don’t even know how to form my thoughts to accurately describe how I feel about that ending. There were ZERO clues for the outcome, like the author pulled an idea out of thin air and went with it. There were no hints and the fact that Pierce put it together from ABSOLUTELY NOTHING BUT TASSELS, was abosolute bull. Even Sherlock would not be able to piece it together, and he would not be amused.


I wouldn’t really recommend this book, and I’m not sure if I’ll continue, as much as I love mythology. I wanted to love this, I had high hopes. Maybe the second book will redeem itself, who knows?

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts? Let me know, I’d really love to know how you felt about this one.

-heatherrrdaniela

Leave a Reply

