The Last of the Firedrakes by Farah Oomerbhoy

 

Title: The Last of the Firedrakes (The Avalonia Chronicles, #1)

Author: Farah Oomerbhoy

Pages: 488

Publisher: Wise Ink

Favorite Quote: “You have to think before you act, because magic always comes with a price.”

Synopsis: 16-year-old Aurora Darlington is an orphan. Mistreated by her adopted family and bullied at school, she dreams of running away and being free. But when she is kidnapped and dragged through a portal into a magical world, suddenly her old life doesn’t seem so bad.

Avalonia is a dangerous land ruled by powerful mages and a cruel, selfish queen who will do anything to control all seven kingdoms–including killing anyone who stands in her way. Thrust headlong into this new, magical world, Aurora’s arrival sets plans in motion that threaten to destroy all she holds dear.

With the help of a young fae, a magical pegasus, and a handsome mage, Aurora journeys across Avalonia to learn the truth about her past and unleash the power within herself. Kingdoms collide as a complicated web of political intrigue and ancient magic lead Aurora to unravel a shocking secret that will change her life forever.

Review: 5/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Oh my, what did I just read? This was FANTASTIC. This story is so fun and captivating. I had started this ebook courtesy of Netgalley (in exchange for an honest review) and sadly I had to put it down because life called and it didn’t want me to read, I know, how rude. What I had read though at the time really stayed with me, I wanted to know more and I found myself thinking about this book and story. I finally was able to pick it back up again and I fell in love. I devoured this book and loved every second of it. Seriously, I didn’t put this book down!


In this lovely debut novel from Farah Oomerbhoy we have Aurora, she has been orphaned as a child but was lucky enough to have adoptive parents who loved her, up until they tragically died. She ended up with her Uncle, Aunt, and Cousin who treated her terribly, a bit reminiscent of Cinderella. She then gets kidnapped and dragged to a magical world where she discovers family, love, betrayal, magic, and most importantly, bravery. This novel reminded me of a Once Upon a Time like storytelling. Farah Oomerbhoy has fantastic world building and I could really see her world and characters come to life. I really enjoyed her writing style, I found it easy to follow and it always kept my attention. Also a note to the author, you made me crave strawberries and fresh cream! The entire time I read this I had to make some cut up strawberries and fresh cream, I’m not complaining though…it was delicious. :]

The chemistry and characters are even better and I loved Kalen and Rafe. Rafe is ridiculously swoon worthy, I loved his character and what Farah did with him. Aurora is relatable in the sense that she’s trying to figure out who she is and what she wants to be. She’s been through so much yet she is very kind and wants to do what is right for the people of the kingdom and rightly honor her parents memory. There are moments when she questions if she can live up to everyone’s expectations and really struggles with some internal and external battles. So we really get to see her move forward in a powerful way.
About midway through we are introduced to a Magic Academy. I fell even more in love with this story at that point. Even more characters are introduced that I love and disliked (villains), this book contains a bigger cast than normally found but I really enjoyed it. It wasn’t hard to remember who was who and it was easy to read. I definitely prefer a larger cast when it comes to fantasy.

We also get to see Aurora evolve at the Academy and learn more about her world and who she is. Some elements even reminded me of World of Warcraft, the dwarves that live in the Iron mountain, mages, and portals. I thought that was so cool or maybe it’s just me nerding out. Either way you guys HAVE to give this book a try.


If you’re a Harry Potter fan and have been wanting to read something that will fill a magical void ever since the last book…this book is for you.


If you like Once Upon a Time storytelling (there are some fairytale similarities when reading), magic (who doesn’t like magic?), an awesome heroine, I recommend this 100%. I summed this book up for my sister without spoilers of course, and she is picking up a copy when it’s available. This book was so fun and magical! I couldn’t get enough, I’ll definitely be buying a physical copy for my shelf when it releases. And book two? I need it! I can’t wait to see the rest of Aurora’s journey.

You can purchase at the following Barnes & Noble and Amazon
-heatherrrdaniela

One thought on “The Last of the Firedrakes by Farah Oomerbhoy

Leave a Reply

