July Book Haul (plus August TBR and current read)!

I can’t even believe July is over with. Part of me is sad because the year is just breezing by, I don’t like it! Then part of me is happy because my birthday is this month and also we are one month closer to October! October is my absolute favorite month of the year and I definitely fill it with some fun creeptastic reads. Also… 

HALLOWEEN, you guys…the obsession is real. I love Halloween decorations, halloween candy, seasonal flavors, pumpkins! Seriously, did you guys try the Pumpkin Spiced Oreos?!  They gave me life!

 
And can we talk about Halloween themed cupcakes and food? See mild obsession…no big deal. What’s your favorite holiday?

Let’s get back to the books, shall we?

Click the link below to see the full post!

Let’s begin with my July Book Haul!
  
These are the lovely books I acquired in the month of July. At first I didn’t think I bought many, but looking at this picture it’s a decent size pile. The temptation is real when you work at a bookstore. I just pass an aisle and I’m like “ohhhhhh a book! that cover is pretty! goodreads on my lunch! oh hey I’ve wanted that book forever, time to buy it!” The struggle is real, but that’s okay…look how pretty they are! No regrets.

 
So far I’ve read Anna and Isla, I’ll do a post with the trilogy soon as I’ve been asked quite a few times my thoughts on the books. I so very much want to read The Whispers of the Fallen by J.D Netto and Pure this month…oh and Spelled! Hopefully I’ll be able to pick them up along the month. 

Let’s move on to my current read, thanks to Netgalley and Disney-Hyperion! I was approved for an ARC of…A THOUSAND NIGHTS. Look. At. How. Freaking. Beautiful. That. Looks. I’m so excited to read this guy and I’ll definitely have a review on it coming up! Also, in case you were wondering…I made muffins and they were damn delicious. Noms.  


Oh and I’ll leave the synopsis for this beautiful book riiiiiight 
here: Lo-Melkhiin killed three hundred girls before he came to her village, looking for a wife. When she sees the dust cloud on the horizon, she knows he has arrived. She knows he will want the loveliest girl: her sister. She vows she will not let her be next.

And so she is taken in her sister’s place, and she believes death will soon follow. Lo-Melkhiin’s court is a dangerous palace filled with pretty things: intricate statues with wretched eyes, exquisite threads to weave the most beautiful garments. She sees everything as if for the last time.But the first sun rises and sets, and she is not dead. Night after night, Lo-Melkhiin comes to her and listens to the stories she tells, and day after day she is awoken by the sunrise. Exploring the palace, she begins to unlock years of fear that have tormented and silenced a kingdom. Lo-Melkhiin was not always a cruel ruler. Something went wrong.

Far away, in their village, her sister is mourning. Through her pain, she calls upon the desert winds, conjuring a subtle unseen magic, and something besides death stirs the air.

Back at the palace, the words she speaks to Lo-Melkhiin every night are given a strange life of their own. Little things, at first: a dress from home, a vision of her sister. With each tale she spins, her power grows. Soon she dreams of bigger, more terrible magic: power enough to save a king, if she can put an end to the rule of a monster.

So now let’s talk about my August TBR, I posted this pretty picture on my Instagram (heatherrrdaniela) and I said I wasn’t going to set a TBR only because I feel like I read less when I do that. My reading mood is always changing and I don’t like setting a certain amount of books or even specific books and end up only reading two and the rest end up as random ones I picked out. I know my TBR isn’t set in stone but I still feel icky (yes icky) when I fail to read my set TBR. And although I’m not setting a TBR for this lovely month, I DO however hope to read The Archived by Victoria Schwab. The cover is so insanely gorgeous and the synopsis is incredibly interesting. I’ll leave the synopsis below for you in case you want to check it out!

Synopsis for The Archived: Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.

Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.

Da first brought Mackenzie Bishop here four years ago, when she was twelve years old, frightened but determined to prove herself. Now Da is dead, and Mac has grown into what he once was: a ruthless Keeper, tasked with stopping often violent Histories from waking up and getting out. Because of her job, she lies to the people she loves, and she knows fear for what it is: a useful tool for staying alive.

Being a Keeper isn’t just dangerous—it’s a constant reminder of those Mac has lost, Da’s death was hard enough, but now that her little brother is gone too, Mac starts to wonder about the boundary between living and dying, sleeping and waking. In the Archive, the dead must never be disturbed. And yet, someone is deliberately altering Histories, erasing essential chapters. Unless Mac can piece together what remains, the Archive itself may crumble and fall.

Do you guys have an August TBR? What are you hoping to read? Let me know!
-heather

  

Leave a Reply

