Books I’m excited for round 2! (August releases and cover reveal-ish)

This post is about a few August releases I’m excited for and my most highly anticipated book release. There are feels all over this post, and it’s a nice long one, sit back and enjoy.

Click the click for the full post!

1. Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

 

Synopsis: Imagine a time when the gods turn a blind eye to the agony of men, when the last of the hellions roam the plains and evil stirs beyond the edges of the map. A time when cities burn, and in their ashes, empires rise.

Alexander, Macedonia’s sixteen-year-old heir, is on the brink of discovering his fated role in conquering the known world but finds himself drawn to newcomer Katerina, who must navigate the dark secrets of court life while hiding her own mission: kill the Queen. But Kat’s first love, Jacob, will go to unthinkable lengths to win her, even if it means competing for her heart with Hephaestion, a murderer sheltered by the prince. And far across the sea, Zofia, a Persian princess and Alexander’s unmet fiancée, wants to alter her destiny by seeking the famed and deadly Spirit Eaters.

Release Date: August 18, 2015

Ughhhhh I don’t have enough words to describe how excited I am for this! It has everything that calls to my soul…Gods? Evil? Alexander the Great? A Queen? Love? SPIRIT EATERS?! I. CAN’T. WAIT. You can grab the free prequel novela here. You can also preorder/purchase Legacy of Kings at the following…

Amazon and Barnes & Noble

2. Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray 

 

Synopsis: After a supernatural showdown with a serial killer, Evie O’Neill has outed herself as a Diviner. Now that the world knows of her ability to “read” objects, and therefore, read the past, she has become a media darling, earning the title, “America’s Sweetheart Seer.” But not everyone is so accepting of the Diviners’ abilities…

Meanwhile, mysterious deaths have been turning up in the city, victims of an unknown sleeping sickness. Can the Diviners descend into the dreamworld and catch a killer?

Release Date: August 25, 2015

I loved The Diviners, it was creepy and written so fantastically well. This continues on after the ending of The Diviners and I really hope we get some answers to some of that build up. I have been waiting for this for quite a while and I can’t wait to dive back into Evie’s life and see how she continues on her journey. The storytelling is phenomenal and I recommend you check out Diviners before this guy comes out, totally worth it!

Preorder or purchase at the following Barnes & Noble and Amazon

3. Court of Fives by Kate Elliot 

 

Synopsis: Jessamy’s life is a balance between acting like an upper class Patron and dreaming of the freedom of the Commoners. But at night she can be whomever she wants when she sneaks out to train for The Fives, an intricate, multi-level athletic competition that offers a chance for glory to the kingdom’s best competitors. Then Jes meets Kalliarkos, and an unlikely friendship between a girl of mixed race and a Patron boy causes heads to turn. When a scheming lord tears Jes’s family apart, she’ll have to test Kal’s loyalty and risk the vengeance of a powerful clan to save her mother and sisters from certain death.

Release Date: August 18, 2015

Ohhhh that cover is prettyyyy. The synopsis sounds interesting and caught my attention from the start. I will be picking this up as it sounds like it’ll be a fantastic fantasy read!

Preorder or purchase at Amazon and Barnes & Noble

4. Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan

 
And I saved my most anticipated release for last. First let’s all take a moment to remember how much I adore Sarah Rees Brennan and her writing. (Oh you didn’t know? Well I wrote a post HERE. You should go read that after this post, kthnxbaiiiiii…) She is one of my automatic buy authors.

Seriously though, I may or may not have been checking out what that lady was up to…not in a creepy way, I promise…don’t judge. I was wondering when or even if she would be coming out with a new novel and then BAM YES SHE IS LADIES AND GENTLEMEN! I may have squeeled and jumped for joy, I’m an adult damnit and I’ll do as I please! I needed a minute to process and then I read the description… I then proceeded to need another 5 minutes to process the gloriousness (yes, I made that word up.)    

Finally I read the chapter excerpt (linked below) and holy guacamole guys…I need this book in my life. I needed it yesterday. I’m so infinitely excited for this release! Also can we take a second to stare in awe of that cover? I know, did you just have to wipe away some drool? No? Just me? Okay! No shame guys, no shame. Where can I preorder?(Details below)
 

Of course this won’t release until April 6, 2016… no big deal right…  

I feel like I will be telling everyone at work (coworkers and customers) about this book when it releases. Ohhhh hey you, you’re looking for some YA? Take this guy. Oh New Adult? Take this instead. Thriller? Nah take this. Fantasy? You’re welcome. Erotica? Buy this instead, you’ll thank me later. 

Synopsis: Tell the Wind & Fire is about a young girl called Lucie who lives in a New York very different from the New York we know: the city is torn between two very different kinds of magic, and Lucie’s own family was torn apart years ago by that conflict. Lucie wears magic rings and carries a burden of guilt she can’t share with anyone.

The light in her life is her sweetheart boyfriend Ethan, but it turns out Ethan has a secret too: a soulless doppelganger created by dark magic, who has to conceal the face identical to Ethan’s with a hood fastened by a collar nobody but a Light magician with magical rings can take off… and who introduces himself to both of them by, for reasons nobody can understand, saving Ethan’s life…


You can check out the article and excerpt here on EW – Boom, you’re so very welcome.

You can also preorder at Amazon and check it out on Goodreads!

Tell me what releases you guys are excited for!
-heather

 

Leave a Reply

