Hexed (The Sisters of Witchdown #1) by Michael Alan Nelson

  

Title: The Sisters of Witchdown (Hexed #1)

Pages: 281

Author: Michael Alan Nelson

Publisher: Pyr

Favorite Quote: “Stop sneaking and walk normally, David,” Lucifer whispered. “You look like a hunchback who needs to pee.”

Synopsis: Luci Jenifer Inacio das Neves, Lucifer for short, isn’t your typical teenaged girl. She’s a thief who survives by stealing bad things from bad people in the magical and mystical underworld hidden beneath our own. So when a policeman’s daughter, Gina, is kidnapped by a force he can’t explain, Lucifer is the only one who has a chance at getting his daughter back.  

With the unsolicited help of Gina’s friends, including Gina’s boyfriend David, Lucifer’s investigation leads to the unfortunate truth of the kidnapping. Gina was taken to an otherworldly dimension by a creature of unspeakable evil: one of the Seven Sisters of Witchdown. Against all odds, Lucifer must use every magical tool hidden in her trick bag to steal her way into the Shade and bring Gina back before the Sister sacrifices her for her own dark ends. But the closer Lucifer gets to Gina, the closer she gets to David. And David to her. Lucifer must risk her life by confronting demons, witches, and the cruel demigoddess controlling her destiny – all to save the one girl who stands in the way of Lucifer finally finding love.

Click the link below to read the review!



Review: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 5/5

 Oh myyyyyyyyyyy, you guys. You. Need. This. Book. Now. NOW. Seriously, where has this book been all my life? I want more Lucifer! Oh man, this was such a FUN read. I loved every page, every chapter, everything. Lucifer is a kick-ass main character. She is strong and smart. She is kind, even behind her attitude and snarky comments…she cares. Lucifer is very determined and is not someone to mess with. The book is a mystery revolving around her life and how to save Gina but with so many wonderful and terrifying supernatural features. It reminded me slightly of Daughter of Smoke and Bone, because we have this young girl who isn’t sure of her childhood. She’s a thief and steals magical objects. She’s fierce, smart, caring, and loyal. Even though she’s a badass supernatural thief she still wants to be a normal girl and you really sympathize with her throughout the story. She also knows how to perform an exorcism and can travel between dimensions (how flippin awesome is that?!) I KNOW, contain your enthusiasm, sheesh…

Michael Alan Nelson does a fantastic job building up Lucifers world, her mysterious past, even her present and future. Nelson is a fantastic writer and I felt connected to the characters, I really felt like I was a part of the story. I wish this book was longer, I needed more…like yesterday. Seriously when can I have the second book? I might have to pick up the comics.

I do wish the author elaborated more on WHY the Sisters of Witchdown were so sinister, added more of their history and maybe more dialogue. Nonetheless I was craving more of the story the closer I got to the ending…and the ending broke me. I have so many unanswered questions.

Do you like kickass female heroines? Do you like paranormal/supernatural reads? Do you like witty snarky dialogue? Do you like her NAME? Do you want to experience an exorcism with a stuffed bunny? If yes to any of these, do yourself a favor and grab this gem. I’m surprised I haven’t seen much buzz around this novel, it’s probably the best book I’ve read this year.

Let me know if you plan on snatching this book up!

Places you can purchase or get more info/reviews:

Barnes & Noble
Amazon
Goodreads

-heatherrrdaniela

Leave a Reply

