Review for The Name of The Star by Maureen Johnson

  

Title: The Name of The Star (Shades of London #1)

Pages: 372

Favorite Quote: “The name of the star is what you fear.”

Synopsis: Jack the Ripper is back, and he’s coming for Rory next….

Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London to start a new life at boarding school just as a series of brutal murders mimicking the horrific Jack the Ripper killing spree of more than a century ago has broken out across the city. The police are left with few leads and no witnesses. Except one. Rory spotted the man believed to be the prime suspect. But she is the only one who saw him – the only one who can see him. And now Rory has become his next target…unless she can tap her previously unknown abilities to turn the tables.

Click the link for my full review!

Review: 5/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

I read this as an ebook from the library. From what I remember before reading this was not much to be honest and the very few reviews I saw mentioned it was very slow and not worth the read. So because of that I pushed it back until a while ago when I saw it was available instantly from my library ebook app. (I use Overdrive, soooo convenient and a great app if you have a local library card.) So I thought what the hell, if I don’t read it or like it nothing lost. I started it one night after reading Lola and The Boy Next Door (which I have a review on, cough cough hint hint) and I was immediately drawn into the story. The  story starts off with a modern Jack the Ripper murder. From there we meet Rory, an American southern girl new to an English boarding school. We get to know her and her past, she’s a great character and I can relate to her easily. She’s funny and developed well as the story went on. After we’re introduced to her new life in England, the murders of Jack the Ripper continue, and we feel the anxiety the city is experiencing as well as the terror and fascination that comes with such events (serial killer experts and whatnot.) The story was written so well, I really enjoy Maureen Johnsons writing. She’s descriptive without being boring, she develops the characters well and realistically, and leaves you wanting more. She weaved the real with the paranormal so incredibly well. There was some witty dialogue which I loved and the book took a turn I wasn’t expecting it to go before reading. If you enjoy great writing and characters, spooky stories, or even just want some Jack the Ripper in your life (no judgements), read this. I recommend this book 100%. Have you read/heard of this series? Would love to know!

-heatherrrdaniela

Leave a Reply

