Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Claire

  
Title: City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Book One)

Pages: 485

Favorite Quote: “Do you remember back at the hotel when you promised that if we lived, you’d get dressed up in a nurse’s outfit and give me a sponge bath?” asked Jace.

“It was Simon who promised you the sponge bath.”

“As soon as I’m back on my feet, handsome,” said Simon.

“I knew we should have left you a rat.”

Synopsis: When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know… 
Click the link for my full review!



Review: 5/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

I can’t believe I waited so long to read this series. I’ve known about it for YEARS, but never got around to it. Then I heard about the movie…watched it and well, again I pushed it back on my TBR pile. One day I told my sister that I wanted to read something paranormal with witty/funny dialogue. Something that would entertain me but not weigh me down. I was in a bit of a slump and wanted something fun. She then reminded me I had the Mortal Instrument series and I should read that because it’s exactly what I wanted. She was right. It didn’t quite grab my attention at the beginning but when it did, oh my DID IT GRAB MY ATTENTION. It cured my slump. It consumed me the whole time. I only stopped to work, among other basic things like food, etc. But I was HOOKED. I loved the characters. Simon is a favorite. I loved the story and her world building was fantastic. I craved more of Jace and Simon and downworlders. It’s an easily enjoyable story, captivating and worthy of reading by EVERYONE. I did like Clary although sometimes she made me shake my head by her silliness. the chemistry between all the characters just flows so well and the action is on point. Immediately after I finished COB, I had to start City of Ashes, I HAD TO. I’m sure most people have read this series, I feel like it’s comparable to Twilight in the sense that everyone and their mother has read it. BUT for those like me who have kept pushing it aside or maybe you have lived under a rock and never heard of it…do yourself a favor and give this series a go. If you’ve had any reason to say no to City of Bones, I recommend you throwing that reason in the trash and go straight to a bookstore and buy this book. Give it a chance and go from there. It’s a great book suitable for everyone and all ages. Now be right back while I go swoon over Jace and Simon…

p.s – The updates on the Shadowhunters TV series is making me incredibly excited. I needed to watch this series like yesterday. How do you feel about the TV series?

-heatherrrdaniela 

6 thoughts on “Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Claire

  1. I just finished this book. I loved it so much! I had read the prequel but I was holding back reading the mortal instruments because I needed time to read them all, but I love them. At first I thought this is really similar to the prequel, but when I kept reading I found that wasn’t true and I loved it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

