Review: Lola and The Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

  

Title: Lola and The Boy Next Door

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Pages: 384

Favorite Quote: “And if I’m the stars, Cricket Bell is entire galaxies.”

Synopsis: Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Review: 5/5 šŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸ Lola and the Boy Next Door was an absolute pleasure to read. It was cute, adorable, swoon-worthy. I adored the characters and Cricket Bell was perfection. I really enjoyed the writing/style and how Stephanie developed the characters slowly but interestingly. I loved that Lola has two dads and her backstory was interesting once it came up. She was definitely a unique character and I liked how she was written in a situation where a lot of people would be able to relate to. I felt connected to everyone in this story like I was there. I think this is a perfect cute contemporary for summer or even if you want to dip your toes in some contemporary type books if you’re new to the genre. Overall I recommend highly. I couldn’t set this book down and almost read it in one sitting (I would have read it all in one go but you know…life. I know, I hate when that happens.)

Leave a Reply

