Review for The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

  
Title: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Author: Michelle Hodkin

Pages: 456

Favorite Quote: “My God, you’re like the plague.”

“A masterfully crafted, powerfully understated, and epic parable of timeless moral resonance? Why, thank you. That’s one of the nicest things anyone’s ever said to me,” he said.

“The disease, Noah. Not the book.”

“I’m ignoring that qualification.”

Synopsis: Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can. 

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed. 

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love. 

She’s wrong.

Review: 5/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 YASSSSS. 🙌😍 Can I just say that I absolutely loved this book? Because I did, I do, I love it. It definitely has that mysterious edge to it, where I was guessing trying to figure it all out. I WANTED to know what really happened, I NEEDED to know. I was so drawn into the story I couldn’t put it down. I just had to know, I needed another chapter. Noah Shaw is basically bae, let’s be real for a moment. I love his character and how he was developed. I connected with Mara and her family. I didn’t get a big overwhelming paranormal feel to the book but it was slightly creepy, not incredibly creepy or scary but definitely mysteriously creepy (is that a thing? it’s a thing.) There was a brilliant balance of mystery and humor, the writing flowed very well. If you’ve been wanting to read some contemporary but love paranormal or thrillers… I would recommend this book to ease you into contemporaries or even thrillers if you’re not a big fan or horror but want something to keep you on the edge of your seat. I would recommend this book period, to everyone who hasn’t read this. Go. Read it. Love it. Thank me later. You’re welcome.

That ending had me in pieces…I HAD to have the second book asap. Also I’m going to be honest, I totally went and bought it the second I was finished with the first book!

Have you read this book? If so leave a comment!

Don’t forget to like this review if you liked it/would like more reviews from me. I can also be found on Instagram (heatherrrdaniela) shamelessly taking pictures of books. 💕

-heatherrrdaniela

5 thoughts on “Review for The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

  1. Yesss I’m a huge fan too! I read the entire trilogy in a night and LOVED it. Mara is so freaking fierce and Noah *_* the sass, the sensuality, the thrill.. damn, Michelle Hodkin is an amazing author!

    My favorite quote is:

    “Asscrown,” I muttered under my breath as I headed to my next class. I wasn’t proud of swearing at a complete stranger, no. But he started it.

    Noah matched my pace. “Don’t you mean ‘assclown’?” He looked amused.

    “No,” I said, louder this time. “I mean asscrown. The crown on top of the asshat that covers the asshole of the assclown. The very zenith in the hierarchy of asses,” I said, as though I was reading from a dictionary of modern profanity.

    They’re perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

